We are excited to announce that the IIS.NET Forums are moving to the new Microsoft Q&A experience. Learn more >

Cannot connect to MS-SQL-db on IIS6.2 (win8.1) from same PC (from browser)RSS

3 replies

Last post Apr 22, 2021 02:04 AM by samwu

• Cannot connect to MS-SQL-db on IIS6.2 (win8.1) from same PC (from browser)

Apr 21, 2021 12:37 AM|indubhushan|LINK

hello, i'm studying programming, and we have course in asp.net. I decided to host a site on own PC - I have a domain, which is attached to my IP, which is permanent (from provider). So on my PC I have Win8.1 and IIS server (seems to be version 6.2). So, I make simple asp.net app, run it in browser (host in IIS express inside Visual studio or, more important - on IIS server when Visual Studio not running), and it is not really working as expected...

Problem is: if I compile and run IIS from Visual studio, and open it in browser, it may work - but only when Visual studio is in "debug"mode (I pressed start and keep waiting till I press STOP Program in Visual studio). In this way I open my browser, press a button to connect to database and execute some "select"command, and... it may work. But still buggy, I can't even understand why problems happen differently.

Worse is when I try to close visual studio, open IIS manager, and add there my folder with site, and attach it to some port on localhost (my internal network/LAN IP starting with 192.168.0...). This way it starts working even worse. I may open it in browser, such site, but seems like only on same PC. But worse is when I press the button to open DB, execute sql command - it seems like not going to connect to DB.

very strange! I have SQL server and IIS server on very same PC, but I can't login into own DB on same own server! why?