WAS fails to start with larger Shared Configuration [Answered]RSS

3 replies

Last post Feb 01, 2020 07:00 AM by jchertudi

• WAS fails to start with larger Shared Configuration

Jan 03, 2020 06:00 AM|jchertudi|LINK

My usual tricks aren't helping. I've been managing two Windows 2008R2 web servers for a 8 years, with a Shared configuration on UNC path, that host about 3000 small web sites.

I am moving our sites to Windows 2019, UNC shared configuration, and roughly 2000 sites.

But, WAS will fail to start (or restart) with more than ~70 sites configured.

This occurs when I copy/paste valid XML into the shared applicationHost.config, or add sites via appcmd or New-WebSite

The applicationHost.config is almost 40k lines in length, properly formatted XML.

If this configuration is used LOCALLY, then WAS will restart nicely and all sites work!

If I put this shared configured on a UNC path, it will work UNTIL WAS restarts. I can bulk add many sites, they function, up until a WAS restart.

If I add comments blocks to disable applicationHost.config  between lines 1031 and and 38518, then WAS will start!

But when I comment out lines 1649 to 38518, then WAS fails with

net start was

The Windows Process Activation Service service is starting.
    The Windows Process Activation Service service could not be started.

A system error has occurred.

System error 5 has occurred.

Access is denied.

Event viewer says...
    Event ID 5189
    The Windows Process Activation Service failed to generate an application pool config file for application pool '*'. The error type is '0'. To resolve this issue, please ensure that the applicationhost.config file is correct and recommit the last configuration changes made. The data field contains the error number.

Procmon shows ACCESS DENIED on C:\inetpub\temp\appPools\APCD26B.tmp

BUT I have allowed the IUSR specified to have Modify permission on this folder.