Need help in automating the scan/comparison of XML files thoroughlyRSS

4 replies

Last post Jun 24, 2019 02:32 PM by Amy100

• Need help in automating the scan/comparison of XML files thoroughly

Jun 20, 2019 05:05 PM|Amy100|LINK

Good afternoon!

I'm a very beginner on PS scripting and tried to apply some PS cmdlet these days. I've got a very recent project requirements to automate the XML files like 'Web.config' file comparison (just like how we usually do manually by using some tools like 'BeyondCompare' etc). I've tried to test out some scripting commands but unable to achieve the desired result. Here's what my scripting code looks like:

This PowerShell script will find which app settings keys are missing from one config. file or the other

[xml]$file1 = Get-Content "C:\Temp\Web.DEV.config"
    [xml]$file2 = Get-Content "C:\Temp\Web.PROD.config"
    Compare-Object ($file1.SelectNodes("//add[@key]") | Select-Object -ExpandProperty Key) ($file2.SelectNodes("//add[@key]")  | Select-Object -ExpandProperty Key)

Output:

InputObject          SideIndicator
    -----------          -------------
    nonoamtestuserid     =>           

I got an idea of how that indicator on the 'SideIndicator' column works but still unable to achieve the desired results as that cmdlet just scans and finds for the missing app setting keys only in either of those files. 

But here's what the exact requirements are:

<div>