Making a SubDirectory to a site on another server [Answered]RSS

1 reply

Last post Jun 13, 2013 04:34 PM by Rick Barber

• Making a SubDirectory to a site on another server

Jun 13, 2013 01:26 PM|DavidLeeGG|LINK

Hi,

We have a domain, www.MyDomain.com and on another server have another site called www.Blah.com

We'd like to take the other site "internal" and create Blah.MyDomain.com

I wonder if there are any cautions or "gotchas" that the knowledgable experts on here might have, as this is my first time making a subdomain.

I presume I need to:

1) register the domain name blah.MyDomain.com

2) create the site in IIS ( this is where I have some questions )

- in the "home directory" tab do I just choose "share located on another computer"?

- I've added "virtual directories" to sites before, leading to other physical folders on the same server, but never to a site's physical files on another server.

• Re: Making a SubDirectory to a site on another server

Jun 13, 2013 04:34 PM|Rick Barber|LINK

Hi DavidLeeGG,

First, for the subdomain, you don't need to register it.  Find out where the DNS is hosted for mydomain.com and add a host (A) record that points to the IP address of the server that will be hosting the subdomain.

To minimize permissions issues and reduce the complexity of the setup, I recommend that you keep the content local on the server.  I do understand that is not always possible, though.  So yes, you would select a share located on another computer.  You will want to make sure the folder on the other computer is set to share.