We are excited to announce that the IIS.NET Forums are moving to the new Microsoft Q&A experience. Learn more >

HTTP Error 500.52 URL Rewrite Module ErrorRSS

8 replies

Last post May 28, 2011 06:56 PM by simtan

• HTTP Error 500.52 URL Rewrite Module Error

May 17, 2011 09:57 AM|eigewa|LINK

Hi all I have WebMatrix running on Win7 development machine, and used the 'Publish' function to upload to my production server, Win Server 2003 SP2. I also have Webmatrix installed on this production server. The MySQL database was backed up and loaded in production. When I try to start my Joomla! site, I get the attached error. -Does IIS7.5 express not have the proper URL rewrite module in place? I read that it is built in in IIS 7.5. What's wrong here? Please help, I am a beginner. How can I attach the crash image?? Thanks!
  • Re: HTTP Error 500.52 URL Rewrite Module Error

May 18, 2011 10:45 AM|eigewa|LINK

Hi all Just to let everyone know, I fixed this problem myself - anyway, no one responded.. It seems, WebMatrix does a weird thing when uploading a site to an existing site. Instead of overwriting everything at the target directory, it created a subdirectory with the uploaded site files. That's why I got the error. I just deleted on my target production server all contents of the web site, and then uploaded all the files again with filezilla, forget Webmatrix publish function... However, this is just testing. For a live production site this will take too long. No solution via Webmatrix.

May 18, 2011 05:32 PM|simtan|LINK

Hello,

In your Publish Settings inside WebMatrix, if you include a subdirectory at the end of your destination URL, WebMatrix will publish there. You may want to double-check that...

Simon Tan
    Program Manager
    Web Platform and Tools

May 23, 2011 01:51 AM|eigewa|LINK