We are excited to announce that the IIS.NET Forums are moving to the new Microsoft Q&A experience. Learn more >

Migrate intranet website from iis6/2003 to iis6/2008 [Answered]RSS

32 replies

Last post Dec 04, 2009 02:47 PM by driftfly

• Migrate intranet website from iis6/2003 to iis6/2008

Nov 03, 2009 03:20 PM|driftfly|LINK

Hello,

I recently purchased a new server running Windows 2008 and IIS 7.  I bought this server to replace our aging 2003/IIS6 box.  We have a large intranet site that I need to move over to the new box.  I am not an IIS expert by any means.  Is there a painless or semi-painless approach to doing this? 

Thanks

• Re: Migrate intranet website from iis6/2003 to iis6/2008

Nov 03, 2009 04:11 PM|moshaikh|LINK

One very simple step that would carry over all your settings, sites, content etc from the old server to the new one is given below. From the location where you have msdeploy installed run the following:

msdeploy -verb:sync -source:webserver60 -dest:webserver60,computername=yournewiis7server  -whatif -verbose

This command you have to run from your old w2k3 box. -whatif will make it NOT sync and It will show you the changes it will carry out when you actually sync. This way you can know what all will happen. When you are all set to go then you can run the command without the whatif switch and it should do the job for you. For this you need to have msdeploy installed on the destination server as well as the source. [If you dont have it on the destination then you can use tempAgent]

Let us know if you need more information

Nov 04, 2009 09:51 AM|driftfly|LINK

Moshaikh,