Simple redirect questionRSS

17 replies

Last post Jul 27, 2009 11:40 AM by wonyoo

• Simple redirect question

Jul 20, 2009 07:01 AM|danyw|LINK

Hi everyone, I am a newbie when it comes to sys-admin stuff. Basically I'd like to filter by host name and redirect appropriately. I'm not sure about the jargon but here's what I'm after:

Requests that come to host1.domain.com should be redirected to 192.168.1.2, those to host2.domain.com go to 192.168.1.3.

I've got a couple of rules with regexp of (.*)(host1.domain.com)(.*) redirecting to {R:1}192.168.1.2{R:3}. This works just fine - all the requests get redirected accordingly.

I have also created a matching rule for host2. This is where the trouble begins. It just happens that 192.168.1.3 is the IIS machine that's handling all this. Going to http://host2.domain.com still redirects it to 192.168.1.2 - not as defined in the rule.

It is very likely I have missed something terribly obvious. Can someone please help me with this? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
    Dany.

• Re: Simple redirect question

Jul 20, 2009 09:44 AM|anilr|LINK

Can you paste your exact rule(s)?

Anil Ruia
    Software Design Engineer
    IIS Core Server

Jul 20, 2009 05:26 PM|danyw|LINK

Unfortunately I did everything through the UI so I can't paste the exact content. I'm not entirely sure where to look for the redirect rules.

Jul 22, 2009 03:33 AM|danyw|LINK

Found my rewrite rules - they were in c:\inetpub\history where I picked one from a subfolder with the latest timestamp.

Here it is:

<rewrite>
                <globalRules>
                    <clear />
                    <rule name="ARR_Code Dogs Limited WF_loadbalance" patternSyntax="Wildcard" stopProcessing="true">
                        <match url="*" />
                        <conditions logicalGrouping="MatchAll" />
                        <action type="Rewrite" url="http://Code Dogs Limited WF/{R:0}" />
                    </rule>