Permission problems on Wordpress Uploads on IIS 7RSS

10 replies

Last post Apr 18, 2013 06:26 AM by Vimana

• Permission problems on Wordpress Uploads on IIS 7

Jun 17, 2009 02:25 AM|nobrainr|LINK

I'm a noob on IIS. But I've been looking everywhere for a solution but nothing works. The following mentions 2 problems. I think I've already fixed the first one but the second one is the key issue.

I have Server 2008 x64 Virtual Machine / IIS 7 / Wordpress 2.8 / MySQL NTS / PHP

Everything works fine except media uploads. When I click upload using internet explorer, the blogging platform alerts me that I have a problem:

<div id=media-upload-error>Unable to create directory C:\inetpub\wwwroot\blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/06. Is its parent directory writable by the server?</div> <div> </div> <div>To fix this problem, I allowed NETWORK SERVICE to have access to the uploads folder and I'm able to get as far as writing the folders and the file (*upload path*/2009/06/test.jpg)</div> <div> </div> <div>When I look at the permissions on test.jpg, IIS_IUSRS does not have read access. I can simply change that manually and see the picture on the site.</div> <div> </div> <div>But how can I get NETWORK SERVICE to write test.jpg with IIS_IUSRS permissions set automatically to read? I thought if my uploads folder had IIS_IUSRS permissions set, it would propagate the necessary credentials to the nested folders.</div> <div> </div> <div>Thanks in advance.</div>

permissions IIS 7 WordPress PHP IIS_IUSRS Unable to create directory is its parent directory writable by the server? Windows Server 2008 NETWORK SERVICE

• Re: Permission problems on Wordpress Uploads on IIS 7

Jun 17, 2009 07:24 AM|Paul Lynch|LINK

Hi,

Are you allowing the NTFS permissions on the root folder to propagate to sub-folders ?

Regards,

Paul Lynch
    MCSE

Jun 18, 2009 02:20 PM|Shanceaylown|LINK

Thanks for very fast reply!

Aug 30, 2009 05:05 PM|stephen.mora|LINK