'Object reference not set to an instance of an object' error in IIS PowershellRSS

19 replies

Last post Jul 20, 2010 08:35 AM by mike cracknell

• 'Object reference not set to an instance of an object' error in IIS Powershell

May 28, 2009 09:27 AM|Mike C|LINK

Hi,

I am new to powershell, I'm looking at it to start streamlining admin tasks on our IIS 7 servers.  When I attempt to run new-item or new-webvirtualdirectory commands I receive the error 'Object reference not set to an instance of an object' error.

Now, this only appears to happen on IIS servers that have shared config, I have tested the same command on a standalone IIS box and it works with no problem.

I wonder if I am doing something fundamentally wrong, should I be able to use IIS Powershell to script against a shared config set up?  If so, has anyone seen (and fixed) this issue before?

The command I am running is:

new-webvirtualdirectory -site "Default Web Site" -name MCTest -physicalpath c:\

The error is:

New-Item : Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

I will try some troubleshooting to see if this is a permissions issue but any assistance would be gratefully received.

Regards,

Mike.

• Re: 'Object reference not set to an instance of an object' error in IIS Powershell

May 29, 2009 10:50 AM|Mike C|LINK

An update - I have taken a shared config IIS server and reverted it back to local config and I still get the problem.  On all our other IIS 7 servers (which have never had shared config) the command works perfectly.  So the shared config thing might be a red herring.

Next step - to try and recreate the problem on new servers by rebuilding step by step.

In the meantime, if anyone has any insights they would be gratefully received.

• Re: 'Object reference not set to an instance of an object' error in IIS Powershell

Jun 02, 2009 08:06 AM|Mike C|LINK

Another update.  I have tested the following scenarios (all shares are on DFS):