IIS 6 Hangs. requires a reboot [Answered]RSS

15 replies

Last post Apr 26, 2010 07:11 PM by raja.gregory

• IIS 6 Hangs. requires a reboot

Jun 09, 2008 09:00 AM|d0z3r|LINK

Greetings:

Apologies if this issue has been answered, it's rather lengthy and hard to google!

Anyway, I have a public site getting moderate traffic - 1.5 million page views / month.  Almost weekly, it hangs on Saturday AM and Sunday AM.  Meaning externally, you get a page not found error.  Interestingly it is still accessable internally (servers are dual-homed, with 1 public and 1 private IP).  Running asp and ASP.NET.  Requires reboot to fix.

I have recently put the site on a totally new hardware platform with the latest 2003/R2 code and patches and the same behavior has continued.

Unfortunately I am NOT a programmer and don't have a full time coder on staff.  I have tried debugdiag but every time I get an error on an incomplete or corrupted dump (both running it manually and on-demand).

Anything I can look at?

Thanks!

• Re: IIS 6 Hangs. requires a reboot

Jun 09, 2008 11:54 AM|HostingASPNet|LINK

Hello,

Tell us more info, what is IIS configuration, ASP.NET Version, check your log files for errors, also when hang try to make in command prompt "telnet yoursite.com 80" to see what will happen.

Regards

WindowsHostingASP.NET - My favourite site for Windows and IIS hosting information.
    HowtoASP.NET - Free ASP.NET tutorials and source code.

Jun 09, 2008 12:36 PM|rfwilliams777|LINK

Ok, if I understand you correctly you have Windows 2003.  Question, do you have all the latest Windows Updates including recommended?  I would start there.