We are excited to announce that the IIS.NET Forums are moving to the new Microsoft Q&A experience. Learn more >

Install ISAPI Extension DLL in IIS 6 [Answered]RSS

8 replies

Last post May 31, 2008 06:13 PM by VReinhart

• Install ISAPI Extension DLL in IIS 6

May 29, 2008 08:36 AM|Salmi|LINK

I am new to web work. I have developed an ISAPI extension DLL in Delphi and debugged it using Delphi's Web App Debugger. I now have to install the DLL in IIS. I haven't a clue what to do to achieve that, or how to know what I should enter into a browser to access it. I need some VERY basic instructions.

I found a very similar earlier post in this forum, but couldn't follow it. Partly perhaps that is because it concerned IIS 7 rather than IIS 6, and partly because it went straight over my head.

Any help would be very welcome!

isapi 6.0

• Re: Install ISAPI Extension DLL in IIS 6

May 29, 2008 09:27 AM|tomkmvp|LINK

May 29, 2008 01:15 PM|Salmi|LINK

Hi Tom, and thanks for your reply - so fast as well. Unfortunately I fell at the first fence. I tried the IisExt /AddFile ... command and I got the response:

Connecting to server ...Done.

Error while configuring application or extension.

You were not connected because a duplicate name exists on the network.

Go to System in Control Panel to change the computer name and try again.

I know there is definitely no other computer on the network with the same name. Anyway, I disconnected the server from the network, changed the server name, rebooted and then retried the IisExt /AddFile command. This produced exactly the same result as before.

I have changed the server name back to the original, but I can't find any hint what to try next. Any suggestions?

May 29, 2008 01:31 PM|tomkmvp|LINK

You're trying this remotely?  Can you logon locally or through terminal services?

May 29, 2008 01:43 PM|Salmi|LINK