Last post Apr 21, 2015 08:10 AM by Syed Sohaib JAmil

• Rovastar Rovastar

5473 Posts

MVP

IIS 6 performance tweak guide (draft)

Mar 25, 2008 12:07 PM|Rovastar|LINK

=====

Hi folks,
    I am starting to write a performance tweaking guide for IIS 6.0 (I have not used IIS 7 enough yet and it is not in the enterprise much atm).

I am a contractor and mostly now-a-days (for the past 7 years) I do IIS web support /architect stuff and this has prompted me to write a performance tweaking guide as I am doing performance review off my own back in my latest role and it will be a useful checklist for thing in a new role.

I found that often the information is all over the place in different MS documentation, blogs, articles, etc and that often they would shy away from placing values in them. Although obviously you should not change the metabase or registry for major changes without doing performance reviews, etc it is nice to have some guidelines of what to expect.
    (I intend increasing this to include detailed monitoring, how to do benchmarking in conjection with this, security, etc for IIS, also one for SQL performance tuning in a web environment and hopefully how to debug IIS hangs and crashes)

Anyway I have slowly got something together and note a few things.
    a) It is not finished yet.
    b) See a)
    c) It was written initially for a large intranet infrastructure I am working in atm so some specific may remain. I will remove these to more general terms (and I probably have some sentences in there that make little sense….sorry)
    d) The grammar and spelling are probably off. I will go through this in more detail later.
    e) Some of the technical detail may even be off. So please feel free to suggestion corrections.
    f) There are things missing some of them obvious. If they are doing best practice where I am I have not written about it so there is more to add. Also things no things like PHP as they have no PHP.