We are excited to announce that the IIS.NET Forums are moving to the new Microsoft Q&A experience. Learn more >

Web Diecrectory (IisWebDirectory) Vs Web Virtual Directory (IisWebVirtualDir) [Answered]RSS

1 reply

Last post Sep 19, 2007 11:31 PM by steve schofield

• Web Diecrectory (IisWebDirectory) Vs Web Virtual Directory (IisWebVirtualDir)

Sep 17, 2007 06:06 AM|krivda|LINK

Hi, dear experts. I am a quite novice with IIS development. And I've got a probably simple questions.

The general task is to determine  the physical path to IIS Directories from C# code. I've found a lot of examples, suggesting to query

Path property from IIS metabase path like  /LM/W3SVC/n/ROOT/virtual_directory_name .But that way solves only part of the problem. In My actual environment i've found that the object in this metabase path may be IisWebDirectory or IisWebVirtualDir. And if it is a IisWebDirectory it doesn't support Path property. So here are the questions:

1. What is the difference between  IisWebDirectory and IisWebVirtualDir. (would be very greatfull for an article reference)? And what shall be used when deploying an ASP.Net Application in setup.

2. Is isWebDirectory always hosted in this path:

[ /LM/W3SVC/n/ROOT/].Path + "/" +"WebDirectoryName"?

If not, how to determine its physical path. 

3. What is the right way to query physical directory path? How to determine programmatically (preferably using DirectoryServices namespace) whether property value is inherited or not?

Thanks alot for detailed answers. 

• Re: Web Diecrectory (IisWebDirectory) Vs Web Virtual Directory (IisWebVirtualDir)

Sep 19, 2007 11:31 PM|steve schofield|LINK

Are you reading the metabase or the physical folder path?  A virtual directory is just that, 'a virtual directory'.  It is a pointer to a physical folder on disk.  Check out MSDN for more programming related documentation.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms526026.aspx

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms524579.aspx