WebFarm Takes 10 Seconds to Relay to New Site [Answered]RSS

4 replies

Last post Nov 04, 2020 04:28 PM by philiptkd

‹ Previous Thread|Next Thread ›
  • WebFarm Takes 10 Seconds to Relay to New Site

Oct 30, 2020 05:17 PM|philiptkd|LINK

Hi, everyone. This is my first time working with IIS, so please forgive any obvious mistakes.

Installation

I'm using IIS 10 on Windows 10. I installed it with the "Turn Windows Features on or off" interface.

I then installed Application Request Routing 3 (ARR 3), which came with the URL Rewrite module.

Setup

I have two identical sites/servers in a server farm for the purposes of blue-green deployment. That is, the goal is to have one site up and one site down at all times. I have a deployment script that publishes my application to the stopped site, starts it, and then stops the site originally running. I basically followed this blog post except wrote my script in C#, not powershell. My sites are both barebones ASP.NET Core MVC applications that say either "Blue" or "Green" on the home page.

Script Procedure

Let's call running and healthy site "Blue" and the stopped and unhealthy site "Green". Here's the order of events:

Start Green. -> Wait until Green can return a 200 status fairly quickly. -> Set Green to be healthy. -> Wait for the health check to see that Green is healthy. -> Set Blue to be unhealthy. -> Stop Blue.

Error

For about 10 seconds after stopping Blue, the server farm does not switch to Green and instead returns a 502.3 Error (A connection with the server could not be established). After those 10 seconds, the server farm finally switches to Green and returns pages correctly. 

The same error is also returned for the first request that I make (and 10 seconds thereafter) after a long delay. It seems that the webfarm needs about 10 seconds to do something after the initial request before it starts working.