A/B site setup assitanceRSS

5 replies

Last post Mar 05, 2020 05:30 PM by Quest John

• A/B site setup assitance

Feb 17, 2020 04:26 PM|Quest John|LINK

Windows Server 2012 R2 IIS 8.5 with URL Rewrite and AAR already installed. We have a current website and it is being completely redesigned. I have been directed to find a way to take incoming traffic (say www.ourdomain.moc) and based upon set parameters direct 50% of traffic to the existing website and 50% to the new website. The premise is that if customer feedback for those directed to the new website is not positive, then the new website will be taken down and revamped and then put back up. Eventually, after about 6 months of positive on the new website, the existing website will be shut down and all traffic will go to the new website. A key requirement/request by my boss is that the host name for the user does not change. I am not a web programmer or IIS guru, I am a network administrator. Any help/ideas are appreciated.
  • Re: A/B site setup assitance

Feb 18, 2020 02:33 AM|Jalpa Panchal|LINK

Hi,

In my opinion, the only way to achieve your requirement is iis web farm load balancing but it is not recommended way because both the sites are different it may create some issue. you ould host the old site as a virtual directory in IIS and try to access it.eg you can host the new site as www.domain.com and old site as www.domain.com/old or set the link of the od site in new site home page so the users can also visit that site and gives you feedback.

you could refer below link for how to set load balancing in iis:

https://forums.iis.net/post/2156701.aspx

Regards,

Jalpa

MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue.
    If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com.

Feb 18, 2020 06:07 PM|Quest John|LINK