Could ARR cause my site return a blank page with 0 errors whatsoever?RSS

6 replies

Last post Dec 10, 2019 06:37 AM by Yuk Ding

• Could ARR cause my site return a blank page with 0 errors whatsoever?

Dec 08, 2019 09:32 AM|Simon Mourier|LINK

Hi,

I've been working with IIS for more than 20 years but never seen that.

I have a strange problem in a Windows Azure App Service. It's a very standard ASP.NET site that works fine 99% of the time.

But sometimes, when I connect to a specific .aspx page, I just get back a blank page. When I say a blank page, I've check with network tools, and it's just an HTTP 200 return (with the usual headers) with zero body (no HTML, no nothing).

Other pages work fine, static files work fine. I can see the incoming request in Azure log stream, and I have zero error from the application (I log all errors). So I can't even determine what are the condition that drive the site to this blank page issue.

If I restart the web app, everything works fine again, and it can work fine during days.

I've noticed that Azure seems to be using ARR (I see ARR headers in the logs). 
    Could ARR or URL Rewriting cause that type of issue? What should I check and/or look into?

Thanks

• Re: Could ARR cause my site return a blank page with 0 errors whatsoever?

Dec 08, 2019 08:30 PM|lextm|LINK

First you should keep in mind there is no 100% reliability.

Second in Azure's scenarios troubleshooting such can be impossible, as you don't have access to most parts of the infrastructure (ARR for example, here).

So if you do have a way to reproduce this empty page, and do have business need to resolve it, contact Azure support, https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/support/options/

Lex Li
    IIS Consulting Services at https://support.lextudio.com/services/consulting.html
    ---------------------------
    This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.

Dec 08, 2019 10:25 PM|Simon Mourier|LINK

Thanks,