AppPoolIdentity local SQL Server LoginRSS

7 replies

Last post Apr 19, 2018 08:00 PM by Falk0n

• AppPoolIdentity local SQL Server Login

Apr 17, 2018 04:36 AM|Falk0n|LINK

I'm having a bit of trouble with getting an ASP.NET application to login to SQL Server using Windows Authentication.  IIS is passing machine credentials to the local installation of SQL Server (same VM) instead of the Application Pool Identity.  This is a site on IIS 10, connecting to SQL Server 2016, and running on Server 2016.  Prior to taking on this project, I have very little experience in IIS.  I've done Windows and Linux sysadmin work, but I have not worked with IIS. 

I understand what I'm trying to accomplish here, but my lack of IIS experience means there's probably something I'm missing.  I can see in SQL Server Logs on Windows logs tons of authentication failures with it trying to pass machine credentials (domain\machinename$) instead of the Application Pool Identity.  I would understand if this were a remote SQL instance, but it's on the same machine. 

I've followed what was laid out here: https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/ericparvin/2015/04/14/how-to-add-the-applicationpoolidentity-to-a-sql-server-login/

I've also read several posts from here, Stack Exchange, and Server Fault.  Task manager shows w3wp is running under the Application Pool Identity, not Network Service. I have set various settings in the IIS site configuration and application configurations.