Put website in "maintenance" mode [Answered]RSS

5 replies

Last post Nov 01, 2010 09:01 AM by dancriel

• Put website in "maintenance" mode

Nov 03, 2008 10:33 AM|NinjaRgRus|LINK

Hi, I am a newbie at IIS admin stuff.

My client wants me to build a script that shuts down the web site for maintenance. 

We need to kill active sessions (without causing too much grief to the users connected)

Then I need to put up a page that say under maintenance.

I also need to redirect all the traffic to that page if the users are connecting using bookmarks.

Then I obviously need a process to reverse this.  Any best practices on this problem and pre existing solutions?

• Re: Put website in "maintenance" mode

Nov 03, 2008 11:39 AM|NinjaRgRus|LINK

Could it work if I included an asp script in all the pages of the site?  That page would check for a global server variable called "UnderMaintenance" or something like that.

That check would be done on every page load, if true then redirect to Maintenance.asp... with auto refresh every 5 minutes to redirect to login page (or even back to previous page).

Then all I'd have to script would be a change in the global server variables.

When I do a change in that global.asa page, do I need to recycle the server for the changes to take place or it's automatic?

Nov 04, 2008 05:42 PM|KeithHutch|LINK